Alice’s Adventures in Acetone

Shhhh, don’t tell anyone (and hey, no one but my husband is reading this, so that’s practically a guarantee!) but a month or so ago I got sort of bored with nail art.  I had only been practising for about a month at that point, but I felt like I had already fallen into a rut of fruit, flower and branded cartoon character designs.  Things were feeling samey.

So while all the other bloggers were off completing their 30 day challenges, I decided to shake things up a bit and imposed a challenge on myself: I’d complete nail art designs based on the EA video game Alice: Madness Returns every day for two weeks, or until such time as it stopped being fun.

How random, you’re thinking.  What’s a Madness Returns?  A thoroughly messed up and decidedly M for mature-rated retelling of Alice in Wonderland, that’s what.  It’s pretty much just like the book, only with more entrails.

But innards or no, I adored it, and I take great geeky pleasure in the fact that not only did I complete it, I PLATINUMED that bitch.  In gamer speak, that’s good.

And it was a great game, too.  But the best part of Alice was the art design, and flowing from that, her costumes.  Like any video maven worth her pixels, Alice’s wardrobe was gorgeous and expansive, and best of all, blessedly, delightfully free from the all tits and guns style depicted in most modern game releases.  Rich, colourful and full of texture and movement, her costumes were the perfect inspiration for the wannabe nail blogger with formaldehyde block.

And so I’m pleased to say I not only completed my self-imposed challenge in a little under two weeks, such was the extent of my ON FIRENESS, but by the end, I was tossing in all sorts of newly acquired tricks (hola, water marbling) and pushing myself beyond the limits of what I thought I could do, with not totally unfortunate results.  So inspiration?  Achieved!

With that in mind, I thought I’d take the next couple of posts to share some of my Alice-inspired designs.  Be kind, Internet; nails are strong, but they can also crack (mostly if you use too much acetone, but that’s a cautionary tale for another day.)

Leave a Reply

