Bubble Tea (OMD2)

Bubble Tea

These nails really do remind me of bubble tea, inasmuch as you can be reminded of something you’ve never consumed. I don’t think it’s the little tapioca balls that act as the tea’s “bubbles” that are driving me away (though squishy is definitely not one of my preferred taste sensations) so much as the milky juice base. I like to think I have a fairly adventurous palette (for pete’s sake, I ate duck testicles this year and barely complained about it, because they were kind of delicious – sorry, nut-less ducks) but I actually draw the line at milk-juice squish ball tea.

But that doesn’t mean I can’t look down at my nails, a manicure in response to day 15’s theme of abstract in the Oh Mon Dieu nail art challenge, and think they look exactly like grody old bubble tea. Ooh, OR in a similar, yet somehow infinitely less disgusting vein, I could say they were inspired by Orbitz, a beverage that was popular in the ’90s for about 3.8 seconds because as it turns out, people don’t like drinking things that look like lava lamps and taste like gummy bears (that’s actually not true. Despite my dislike of bubble tea, I loved the crap out of Orbitz. My parents bought one giant case from Costco and I drank every one – cherry, lime, fruit punch – but for the orange, because ew.)

5 thoughts on “Bubble Tea (OMD2)

  1. Seriously I just had my first ever bubble tea last week in Newcastle. I did not like the thought of it either! I went for a juice base of mango, with passion fruit pobbles which were such a weird sensation of them bursting. Like drinking something then ending up with a pobble in your mouth felt wrong and that you might choke on one at anytime but it was totally fine, it’s just that sometimes they surprised you. But it was tasty! You need to go for it! It didn’t taste milky AT ALL! It kinda did have a black tea after taste though…. (sorry for that bubble tea disseration)

  2. Those nails are really cute!! But seriously, you HAVE to try bubble tea. It’s delicious and you don’t even have to have it with milk – or boba even! It was originally called bubble tea because when you mix all the flavours together, bubbles form on top 🙂

    • You know, there are an absolute ton of tea shops in my city, so I really have no excuse! And I’ve heard from enough people now that have told me that it’s great that I should just believe them and suck it up (literally.) 🙂

  3. Pingback: Commercial Tapioca Ball Bubble Boba Tea Auto Cup Heat Sealing MachineBoba Tea™ | Boba Tea™

Leave a Reply

