Jumpin’ Jelly

Jumpin' Jelly 1

It was only after I had removed this cute pond manicure that I realized that with its lush magenta hue and floral sun design, it would have made the perfect background for a bit of Tangled-inspired nail art. I seem to recall Rapunzel maneuvering her impossibly gigantic ‘do around a kingdom celebration festooned with flags bearing purple and yellow sun designs.

Pond manicures look impressive, but really only hinge on two simple factors: A not-too-opaque jelly polish and a steady hand for detail work. For this manicure, I painted my nails with two coats of China Glaze’s Are You Jelly? Then, using a detail brush and an assortment of dotting tools, I painted on the floral design, filling in all the gaps to create a sort of mosaic tile design. Then I painted on one thin, even coat of Are You Jelly?, taking my time to ensure I wasn’t covering up too much of the floral sun design, before topping off the whole works with one mega light-reflecting coat of Seche Vite to make everything smooth as the surface of a (jelly-filled) pond.Jumpin' Jelly 2

2 thoughts on “Jumpin’ Jelly

Leave a Reply

