Bippity Boppity Blue (31DC2014)

Bippity Boppity BlueMickey’s sorcerer’s cap from Fantasia (also the giant sculpture that’s the main focal point of Disney’s Hollywood Studios) provided the inspiration for these nails, which fit right in with day five’s theme of blue in my Disneyfied version of the 31 Day Nail Art Challenge.

I don’t have a lot of feelings either for or against Fantasia (except the whole dinosaur sequence really scared the crap out of me when I was a kid, and maybe continues to to this day), but I like Disney’s Hollywood Studios (formerly MGM Studios) very much. I think it might actually be my favourite Disney park (and we all know how I feel about the Haunted Mansion, which resides in the Magic Kingdom.) I love its overall mid-century aesthetic, with a callback to the glory days of Hollywood and classic movie-making. The whole pace of the park is a little more relaxed than its sisters, and while still being “Disney busy”, particularly during peak travel times, it never feels like it’s swamped with people the way some of the other parks do. Also, and most importantly, the Twilight Zone Tower of Terror lives at MGM (sorry, I’ll never not be able to call it that.) Not too surprisingly, it’s of vital vacation importance to me to have Rod Serling scare the crap out of me in the dark in an old haunted hotel before plummeting 13 stories in a broken freight elevator towards my inevitable fear and fried chicken-induced heart attack. Livin’ on the edge, folks!

And speaking of Livin’ on the Edge, directly across from the Tower of Terror is the Rock ‘N’ Roller Coaster, an Aerosmith-themed roller coaster that has the distinction of being only one of two rides to ever make me want to toss my cookies. That’s what happens when you go from zero to 60 in under three seconds and aren’t expecting it in the least. We took off and it felt as if my spine stayed behind in the loading area. My stomach, that stayed with me, because it spent the next minute and a half of loop-dee-doos and twisty, black-lit turns trying to find its way up and out. I must have made a pretty sight stumbling off the ride and into the gift shop, desperately trying not to woof all over the Aerosmith branded merchandise. Of course, that horrible experience didn’t dissuade me in the least from riding the Rock ‘N’ Roller Coaster many, many more times in my life, including once more that trip, because once you ready yourself for that zero to 60 launch, it’s all downhill from there. *groan*

Leave a Reply

