It’s All Fun and (Carnival) Games

Carnival Games Bottle…until somebody goes broke from buying too much nail polish. I think that’s how that saying goes. Or at least that’s how it goes in my life!

Actually, all things considered and all joking aside, I really don’t own that much nail polish. True, I probably have more glitter polishes than the average lacquerista, and I know I’m in possession of more nail polish than all of my friends combined, but my stash is not ridiculously large, nor will I ever have to regard it as a not-so-well-thought-out retirement plan. I’m quite responsible when it comes to my polish purchases, even when I can’t manage the same for the rest of my life!

But there is the small issue of my devotion, shall we say, to big, chunky, looks-like-candy indie glitters (not to say that the commercial brands haven’t dipped their toes in the glittery water; it’s just taking a while for them to play catch-up.) My first (so hesitant!) online polish purchase was from Candy Lacquer, an indie polish maker who seems to specialize in exactly the kind of “Is this food?” glitters I like best. And like them best I do, because I’ve used the two polishes I bought, Licorice Allsorts and Fairyland, in about six million manis (okay, so that’s a bit of an exaggeration. It’s really more like 10 or 12. I was only off by 5,900,000 or so.)

And so when I was recently looking to gift myself with a little something special and sparkly, I went back to the Candy Lacquer well and bought *mumbles under breath* four new polishes, including this little gem I’ve taken to calling “theme park in a bottle,” Carnival Games. Here I’ve shown Carnival Games over – so weird – my three most stainiest polishes, although its delightful mix of rainbow-hued hexes, squares, stars, circles, triangles and donut glitter (that’s a new one) looks amazing over any vibrant hue, as well as old glitter base standards like black and white. Bonus: Although it’s positively packed with all of the aforementioned glitter, the formula is not dry and application (one brushed-on coat with a smidge of dabbing here and there) was a breeze. So let the (carnival) games commence!Carnival Games HandCarnival Games Hand Sun

Leave a Reply

