Santa’s Retirement (31DC2014)

CandyCaneFiesta BottleI bought this polish, Candy Cane Fiesta from Candy Lacquer, a while ago and have been holding it in reserve in anticipation of today’s challenge theme of glitter in the 31 Day Nail Art Challenge. It’s THE BESTEST stuff, and weirdly reminiscent of the decor at a mini golf course in Disney World where it’s themed to look like Santa’s retired to Orlando in his off months to hang out with Mrs. Claus and the reindeers at the beach. In fact, quite a bit of Candy Lacquer’s limited edition Christmas in July collection reminds me of that mini putt course in which you can take two different runs, one through a traditionally festive-looking snow scape and another through Santa’s beachside retirement community for swinging North Pole retirees. Either way, the one time I visited, it was so much fun (and difficult; this was no slouch of a mini golf course) and being Disney, perfectly themed to within an inch of its life.

So when this polish showed up in a recent order of nail mail positively brimming with Christmasey fun (and Mickey head glitter!) I knew I’d have to put it to good use in a manicure for the prompt I’ve been looking forward to tackling the most, glitter! Here, continuing on with the theme of snowbird Santa, I topped a beachy-looking gradient with one coat of Candy Cane Fiesta, pushing some of the hearts, stars, moons, squares, diamonds, snowflakes and candy canes (phew!) around so there were no bare patches, before adding a Mickeyfied accent nail made up of some of the oversized glitters Candy Lacquer provided alongside the polish in a wee little baggie. The end result is a weird, out of season, vaguely messy configuration of glitter, colours and concepts that I just love. Indeed, they might be my favourite nails of this challenge…so far. 😉CandyCaneFiesta Hand

6 thoughts on “Santa’s Retirement (31DC2014)

    • Thank you! This polish came with a little bag of HUGE glitter (seriously, look at the size of that tree – it’d never fit in the bottle) and I wasn’t sure what to do with it. Problem solved!

    • Thank you! Yeah, I kind of can’t believe that Christmas time is coming around again so quickly, but I love it, too, and I especially love the decor, so there will probably be more out-of-season manis from me! And I love your blog name so much – it’s fantastic! 🙂

  1. Pingback: I Don’t Give a Damn About My Bad Reputation | Finger Candy

  2. Pingback: We’re Having a Fiesta! | Finger Candy

Leave a Reply

