Disneybound (31DC2014)

032A couple of busy days has led to this Disney-fried blogger neglecting her 31 Day Nail Art Challenge duties (and also doing creepy things like speaking about herself in the third person.) Going into this challenge and my why-exactly-did-I-do-this Disney sub-challenge, I thought there was no way I’d ever run out of ideas inspired by the House of Mouse. And I haven’t, although I’m starting to feel ever so slightly burnt out on Disney-centric manicures. I want to be where the people are! There must be more than this provincial life! Oh, crap…

But then, seeking help with the 31 Day Challenge’s theme of inspired-by-fashion, I popped over to Tumblr blog Disneybound and saw that there’s still so much inspirational Disney out there, from theme park rides to animated characters to iconic food items, that I could keep doing this until Clarabelle the Cow and all of her friends come home. And best of all, I found the subject of my fashionable manicure in Disneybound itself.

Have you heard of Disneybound? If not, get prepared to lose the next two hours of your life. Disneybound is a blog that focuses on DIY, everyday Disney fashion for the lady or gentleman who likes a dash of faith, trust and pixie dust in their theme park wear. With the exception of a few days around Halloween when the parks roll out their pumpkin-coloured carpets, Disney has a strict policy forbidding costumes in the parks (little kids are exempt, if all of the wee Elsas and Annas running around are any indication.) So Disneybound provides a nice little workaround for the fashionista who would like to spend her day at the Magic Kingdom garbed like The Little Mermaid, but doesn’t necessarily want to do it in a floor length fishtail gown or run afoul of Disney’s no-costumes policy. So maybe our Little Mermaid wears a pair of mint green skinny jeans and a purple tank top, a crab-shaped purse slung across her body and a fish-shaped pendant hanging from her neck. THAT’S Disneybounding – easily achievable, everyday-and-more outfits touched with Disney whimsy.

So for the theme of fashion in the 31 Day Nail Art Challenge, I drew inspiration from Disneybound, both its logo AND its fashion philosophy, creating a Snow White-inspired look out of a number of disparate elements. I don’t own a red, white and blue glitter topper, so I widgeted one together out of a couple of different polishes I already own, layering that over a sunny yellow befitting Snow’s gorgeous dress (girlfriend really gets the best colour palette – but that’s what happens when you’re the first princess.) Then I added a small acrylic bow to my ring finger, which started out life neon orange until, in the very best Disneybound tradition, I painted over it to look like Snow’s iconic red bow. Et voila, Disney-tinged, not-too-obvious nails for the fashion-forward Disneyphile who wants to keep it Disneybound fashionable and fun.

Leave a Reply

