Just the Two of Us

Just the Two of UsHere at Finger Candy HQ, one of my favourite high impact, low effort manicures is to top a gorgeous base polish with a brushed-on gradient of sorts in a rich, complimentary-hued glitter jelly. It’s one of the easiest nail art techniques out there, requiring nothing more than two polishes and a steady hand, made easier and prettier by the glitter jelly, which is smooth and glossy and makes the glitter look like it’s actually embedded in the polish. It’s such a quick and dirty technique, it’s almost annoying how little time it takes to yield maximum results, and absolutely no one will believe your mani only took you 20 minutes!

Here I went for a top-down gradient of Deborah Lippmann’s rainbow glitter-packed purple jelly, Let’s Go Crazy, over Glam Polish’s plummy Lydia, daubing on a light, not-too-goopy coat of Let’s Go Crazy right up at my cuticles and extending it about halfway down my nails. I try to keep the gradient light and almost drippy-looking as it moves down my nails, although there’s absolutely no requirement that you try to form the jelly polish into actual drips, as it will naturally tend to do that all on its own.

I wish I had more wisdom to impart on the subject of glitter jelly gradients, but I think, like the manicure itself, I’ll adhere to the principle of KISS and say no more (no, not rock ‘n roll all night and party ev-er-y day – Keep It Simple, Stupid!)Just the Two of Us Fingers

2 thoughts on “Just the Two of Us

Leave a Reply

