We’ll Be Counting Stars

Counting Stars 1Hey look, more stuff on my nails! Although it must be said that since my initial, rather firm line in the sand regarding nail charms, decals, studs and the like (nuh uh, no way, not on your life) I have softened considerably on the subject of nail adornment. As Martha Stewart would say, that’s a good thing, because I now have a not unsizeable collection of nail charms, decals AND studs just begging to be used in a fun, “let’s try something new” kind of manicure.

Here I’ve shown a handful of neon star studs from Daily Charme over Different Dimension’s perfect Hawaiian Punch-y coral, You’ve Gotta Be Squidding Me (this doesn’t need saying for any readers who are also nail artists and makeup mavens, but 8/10ths of the fun in purchasing a new polish is seeing what wackadoo, punny names the makers come up with to differentiate it from the other 50 coral pink polishes on the shelf. This is really one of the better ones!)

I went with a completely random design when it came to the placement of the stars, mainly because the first star I placed, the little blue one at the top of my index finger, just fell off the end of the toothpick I had precariously picked it up with and that’s where it landed. Which was, of course, not where I had intended to place it (I actually had a much more structured design in mind.) But the random sprinkling of stars actually worked out quite well, and so they stayed. But to that end, I think one of those wax pencils people use to pick up tiny rhinestones and other oversized bits of glitter would be quite beneficial here, as the lick-the-end-of-a-toothpick-and-hope-for-the-best technique didn’t quite work and certain disaster strikes every time I get even remotely close to my nails with a pair of tweezers. Still, this is such a pretty, festive, almost celebratory kind of look. I keep thinking of a bouncy castle.Counting Stars 2

Which might have something to do with You’ve Gotta Be Squidding Me, a neon pink jelly polish loaded with tiny, shimmery purple glass flecks, which is one of those delightfully squishy, somewhat rubbery-looking nail polish animals that makes you think your manicure looks like a bouncy castle! This is my first Different Dimension polish, and I’m quite enchanted already. A lush, vibrantly-hued, deceptively simple polish loaded with subtle visual interest – what’s not to like?Squidding Me Collage Watermarked

Leave a Reply

