Let’s Turn on the Juice and See What Shakes Loose

Cropped BeetlejuiceBeetlejuice the cartoon-inspired nail art. The difference, you ask, between the 1988 movie and the 1989 television show? A lack of Adam and Barbara, for one, a tighter focus on the Deetz family unit, for another, and absolutely zero mention of the fact that in the movie Beetlejuice coerces Lydia through threats of violence against her friends and family into being his unwilling underworld child bride. Instead Beetlejuice and Lyds are the bestest of undead buds, cutting all sorts of screamy, high energy capers from here to the Neitherworld and back again. And you know what? I actually prefer it that way. Because the alternative is some exceptionally disturbing ‘shipper fan art I ran across this afternoon whilst calling up images of the animated ghost with the most. File that one under “Things I Never Needed to See”!

As a little inside joke, I layered one coat of Whimsical Ideas by Pam’s Head Shrinker over the green and purple gradient on my index and middle fingers. Because if anyone can understand a bit of head shrinking, it’s Beetlejuice, right?! 😉

8 thoughts on “Let’s Turn on the Juice and See What Shakes Loose

  1. These look awesome! PS I was not allowed to watch the movie when it came out and I remember feeling very resentful over the whole thing. I still haven’t gotten around to watching it even though I’m an adult now and can watch what I want 🙂

    • Thank you! It would probably be terrible if you watched it now – the expectations are so high, and the quality of the movie (as always) is pretty low (and I say that with much love!) I had a weird first experience with this movie, too, come to think of it. I went to the theatre at 10 years old for this PG 13 movie with my 14-year-old cousin and they wouldn’t let us in (so many numbers in that last sentence.) I ran all the way home crying, I was so upset and embarrassed! I think my dad took me the next week. 🙂

  2. Pingback: In the Year 2015 | Finger Candy

Leave a Reply

