Vanilla Coke-Glazed Ham

Vanilla Coke Hand

That sounds so delightfully nutty; I can hardly believe it’s a real thing (along with other 1950s-style “miracle foods” such as mayonnaise chocolate cake and aspic anything.) For the Vanilla Coke logo on my two middle fingers, I used a couple of wonderfully fitting polishes from last year’s Coca-Cola Collection by OPI, classic Coca-Cola Red and cream-coloured You’re so Vain-illa, while my remaining fingers sport three coats of Vain-illa topped with one coat of my favourite homemade glitter polish, Hawaiian Ham.

That the Ham, my first attempt at making homemade polish, turned out so well has come as a completely delightful surprise. I wasn’t expecting the glitter mix to blend so nicely, I wasn’t *really* expecting the suspension base to actually suspend anything and I certainly never thought that nearly two years to the date of its creation, it would still be performing beautifully (no glitter curling, no colour bleed.) And that’s saying nothing of the wordplay possibilities that exist when you’re dealing with a polish with “ham” in its name! I actually wanted to paint a bone-in ham on my thumb, but then held back at the very last second – that seemed like an excessive amount of nail art theming for one hand. 😉

Vanilla Coke Ham Bottle

11 thoughts on “Vanilla Coke-Glazed Ham

  1. The whole mani is very nice, but the glitter is my fave part. Great job on that! I bought a kit a few months back, to make polish (b/c I am lazy and it seemed like the easiest and most economical way to get all the stuff). Have I used it yet? No…because I am lazy (and have so much other polish)… Also I figure I will waste the ingredients and make duds. But look how good your glitter is! Glitter-spo!

    • Thank you! I love this polish so much, and it was another one of those beginner’s luck things – the first one I ever made. It just turned out right on the first try; ain’t gonna argue with that. You should totally give your kit a whirl, see if it’s something you might like to expand a bit. I’ve made probably six or seven, and four have been really seriously decent – good enough to give away, which I did!

Leave a Reply

