Lemon-Lime Jelly Surprise! (31DC2015)

CitrusFingers

When my husband and I were first engaged, his family invited my family to a Thanksgiving church supper in their hometown that they attended every year. His family is moderately religious, mine even less so, yet we all agreed that church suppers always do a feast up right, and so we were going to go hardcore. Which we did. No turkeys were spared.

What was spared at our table, however, were about three half-finished bowls of jellied salad, all of it unnaturally hued and studded with unidentifiable bits of plant life. A gaggle of old ladies at our table were downright morose about the remaining salads, so much so that Mr. Finger Candy took it upon himself to eat the remaining salads. All three of them. Even the one that looked like it might have had a ribbon of mayonnaise suspended in its blue jellied depths. It was an odd ride home.

These nails remind me of those salads. Here I topped four coats of a lemon-hued jelly with two coats of Candy Lacquer’s Citrus Smoothie glitter topper, before adding a little lemon-lime garnish to my ring finger. And while it’s cute and all, AND it adheres to day three’s theme of yellow in the 31 Day Nail Art Challenge, I think the thing I like about this manicure the best is that it is literally the polish version of a jellied salad – bits of Citrus (Smoothie) suspended in jelly. Meta and delicious…but only if you’re my husband!

CitrusHand

8 thoughts on “Lemon-Lime Jelly Surprise! (31DC2015)

  1. Even before I read your post, I saw the swatch and thought it looked like a jellied salad! πŸ˜€ LOVE THIS SO MUCH! πŸ‹πŸ‹πŸ‹

    LOL that he ate all the salads!

Leave a Reply

