Candy Butterflies

Butterfly Candy Hand

Not to be confused with candied butterflies, which I think would be pretty gross and needlessly labour-intensive. Then again, I’ve never dined on a dragonfly or noshed on a nit, so what do I know about it? My dad, who for a period of time was travelling to some very remote places in China and Africa, where they do not have the same hang-ups that we do about our protein sources, has eaten more than his fair share of insects. The verdict? Pain in the ass. Crunchy. Garlic. Ah, yes, garlic – the great culinary equalizer (this is true; a few years ago I happily scarfed down a plate of duck testicles at a weird, hipster foodie event because they tasted like delicious garlic meat nuggets. Which they were. I’d never eat them again, but when in Rome and all that. Sorry, nut-less ducks.)

Anyhow, tangents aside, I do not believe that candied butterflies would taste very good. And they certainly wouldn’t look as good as these glitter bomb nails, which I did using Butterfly Candy, a new-to-me glitter topper from Candy Lacquer. I initially tried Butterfly Candy over a medium-toned, grape soda-hued creme, but it really masked and dulled the effect of the multi-multi-multi-coloured glitter. So I swapped out the base for a simple pastel purple, and the resulting mani is rainbow-sprinkled perfection…with lots of bitty butterflies. 🙂

Butterfly Candy FingersButterfly Candy Bottle

12 thoughts on “Candy Butterflies

  1. Noshed on a nit…love it! I am a little speechless about the duck testes tho…. :O

    You and your dad are more adventurous than me!

    A very cheery polish!! Just what the day needed.

    PS: hope that’s peel off base 😀

    • It is not a peel-off base, but I do peel – I just pick it off even though I know, I know, I shouldn’t. But – knock on wood – my nails don’t seem all the worse for it. I also find that big glitters like this one tend to be quite drying, which helps in terms of being able to get it off.

      And on the subject of the testes – I have an actual tag on my blog for “testicles” – they tasted like what I think escargot would taste like if I ate those either – garlicky, meaty. The chipmunk mini burgers were a different, un-eaten story altogether.

  2. Pingback: Melting Popsicles | Finger Candy

  3. Pingback: 2015’s Most Valuable Polishes | Finger Candy

Leave a Reply

