Clown Pants

50 Shades Bottle

This polish reminds me of the polka dotted prints you see on clown pants. That’s all I see – clown pants. Which is funny, because when exactly is the last time I laid eyes on a clown?  Half past never?  I’m not sure I’ve ever been to a circus.  Certainly not one that wasn’t of my own making, that is. 😉

This super fun lacquer’s name is actually 50 Shades of Yay, and it’s from a new-to-me polish maker, Delush Polish.  50 Shades is actually quite similar to another polish I already own, Different Dimension’s Why Am I Such a Misfit?  Both are sheer white crellies (I will never not hate that word) stuffed with an assortment of colourful, bauble-like glitter.  50 Shades’ glitter mix is an especially pretty one, all pinks and purples and giant turquoise circles – aside from the clown pants, this polish also really reminds me of frosted animal crackers.

Unlike Misfit, however, 50 Shades’ formula is rock solid.  Mega glitter polishes, particularly those with a pale, sheer base, often require multiple, multiple coats to reach full opacity, and with all that glitter mucking up the works, things can get lumpy awfully quickly.  50 Shades of Yay does not suffer from this problem, applying smoothly in just four coats, and I never had to fish for that much-coveted large circle glitter – in fact, on my final coat, I had to flick a number of them off the brush, lest things take an immediate detour into Lumpytown.  All in all, I was super impressed with what should have been a hella temperamental polish.  I’ll absolutely be checking out their other offerings – glittery, all – which are available at Harlow & Co.

50 Shades Fingers

8 thoughts on “Clown Pants

  1. Baahaha clown pants! 😀 Oh I hate the word crelly too! for some reason it (i have no idea why) it always makes me think if some unpleasant shellfish illness oO

Leave a Reply

