Stars at Twilight

Twilight Stars Fingers

Coming at you this bright and beautiful morn with a manicure inspired by last night’s ice chip stars.  After an abnormally temperate start to the winter (three weeks ago temperatures were in the plus double digits; one day I did some tidying up on my balcony in a t-shirt), the weather has reverted to normal.  Unfortunately, normal is -25 degrees, and that’s just lousy.

But there’s something about these positively frosty days (and nights) that adds such a beautiful shimmer to the world.  Last night as I was driving along a dark, country road-type stretch of tree-lined blacktop, I couldn’t help but marvel at just how quiet and peaceful and beautiful everything was – the delicately snow-dusted trees, the still, frosty air and the gorgeous ice chip stars.  So as I tend to do when I’m inspired by anything, I decided to paint those stars on my nails.

I’m notorious crap at drawing stars, however, so those of last night’s variety – tiny, delicate pinpricks of shimmering light – were never going to happen by my hand.  Thankfully, I’ve got a polish I like to refer to as “night sky in a bottle” (CND Vinylux in Dazzling Dance) and it saved the day, adding those tiny, icy pinpoints of light to this super subtle gradient (and the less subtle purple stars) for a beautiful, stars-at-twilight type of effect.

7 thoughts on “Stars at Twilight

  1. Your writing is just as beautiful as your nail art! We must have been driving at the same time as I too had the same sightings and feelings. Take care and happy New Year. All the best to you! Koko

  2. Pretty nails, and I agree about the lovely writing as well!

    (It snowed here yesterday, nothing permanent, but it was really coming down there for awhile! Today was cold, but bright and sunny)

Leave a Reply

