Kingsman

Kingsman Hand

Closing out the week with a manicure inspired by my favourite movie of last year, Kingsman: The Secret Service.  Starring Colin Firth, Taron Egerton and Samuel L. Jackson, and directed by action dude Matthew Vaughn, Kingsman tells the story of Eggsy Unwin, a well-meaning but n’er do well thug-in-training who is recruited into Kingsman, an ultra top secret British spy agency.

Film preference is a terrifically personal thing, so I won’t be offended if you don’t immediately take my recommendation to watch this movie, WATCH IT NOW, like I have, over and over and over again, but allow me to leave some of these tasty breadcrumbs in my wake: An insanely charming Taron Egerton (I suspect there is no other variety.)  An insanely charming Taron Egerton in an impeccably tailored pinstripe suit (for all you types who share my affinity for a man in formal wear.)  Lots of men’s fashion advice.  Cute puppies! Uppercrust dickheads who get their comeuppance. A proper rags-to-riches tale. An elitist, profane Michael Caine (I also suspect there is no other variety.)  Colin Firth kicking ASS.  Yes, that Colin Firth, and I’m not even joking about the ass kicking – in the movie’s most memorable scene (SPOILER) his character is responsible for 79 deaths.  And you see every single one.  Kingsman doesn’t hold back on the violence, that is for sure.

I could go on for days.  Samuel L. Jackson making a very interesting acting choice.  A smart, strong and spunky female character who’s NOT there to be the love interest.  Mark Strong, who I find deliciously, nerdily handsome.  Tips on being a proper gentleman.  And freaking Sofia Boutella, a dancer by training who plays double amputee assassin Gazelle. This girl moves like no one I’ve ever seen, plus she gives excellent snark face.  I want to be her when I grow up, only slightly less homicidal.

All right, all right, I’ll stop now, but promise me you’ll at least check it out?  I don’t think you’ll be disappointed.

For these nails, I recreated the Kingsman medallion on my middle two fingers, and then the pink, grey and navy stripes of the medal’s ribbon on my index finger and pinkie.  And on my thumb I have only the second dog I’ve ever painted on my nails, Eggsy’s dopey pug, J.B. (Jack Bauer.)

12 thoughts on “Kingsman

  1. I loved this movie, too! The only thing that didn’t work for me was that scene with the princess at the end LOL! YOU KNOW THE LINE. It just came out of nowhere, and Egerton looks about 15, so I just…no. But, still love the movie.

    • It really did come out of nowhere. I remember going, “Aw, really?” So crass. But once you’ve watched it about 25 times, you stop noticing what the movie ends (heh) with. And he totally looks like he’s 12! Even all hotted-up in his suit, he’s a kid and I’m a perverted old lady!

Leave a Reply

