Lucky Charms

Lucky Charm Fingers

Sort of.  At least the all important marshmallow part.

Speaking of, you know you’re getting up there in age when everybody’s favourite Saturday morning cartoon fuel is riddled with shapes of marshmallows that you’ve never laid eyes on before.  Yellow hourglasses?  Red balloons?  Multi-coloured shooting stars?  I half expect a petrified turquoise marshmallow shaped like a cell phone to fall out of the box next.

I love these nails.  They’re so fun and vibrant.  One note, though – trying to nail art over top of deep, saturated colours (like electric jade, here China Glaze’s Four Leaf Clover) is an exercise in futility.  Whatever you layer over top of it will take on a vaguely green tinge, and you’ll find yourself going over and over the same details time and time again in an attempt to hold on to the vibrancy of the polishes.  Don’t do this.  The easiest approach is to rough-in the details first – here the marshmallows – in basic white, and then fill in the coloured details after the fact.  Well, I suppose the easiest approach is to stick to pastel base colours, but where’s the fun in that?  And for the love of all that’s holy, don’t forget the base coat – greens tend to stain like a beast.

16 thoughts on “Lucky Charms

  1. I had no idea they were screwing about with the marshmallow shapes etc. Not sure why that is necessary, is that someone’s job to keep up turnover in the cereal marshmallow color/shape? I freely admit I bought a big generic bag off Amazon of just the dehydrated marshmallows and added to mixed cereals of my choice. The lack of distance shape had no impact on the tastiness 🙂

    • I think they might release some special shapes around the holidays, too. I actually wouldn’t know – I don’t think I’ve ever actually eaten a bowl! Although I think an entire bag of just marshmallows sounds pretty stupendous – I’d probably just start putting them in everything, like spaghetti sauce. Or my bath.

Leave a Reply

