Disney Girl Challenge: Sally Shine

Sally Shine Hand

Here’s a random bit of Disney amusement park trivia for you: Sally Shine is the name of the little Shirley Temple-esque girl who becomes a permanent resident of the Twilight Zone on the Tower of Terror ride.  Or she was – word on the street is the Twilight Zone Tower of Terror is getting re-zoned AND de-Zone’d at some point in the near future, probably to make way for more Star Wars.  I loved The Force Awakens SO much more than I thought I was going to, and I’m all for Disney recouping their multi-billion dollar investment at the park level, but why does it have to come at the expense of such a beloved attraction?  I don’t want to be that grumpy old Disney nerd desperately clinging to the past and futzing on about the glory days of Mr. Toad’s Wild Ride (a dark ride Disney classic; innovative for the ’70s, but terribly dated as time wore on, and one of those ones that people fought to preserve) but I really hope this rumour turns out to be just that – a rumour.

But until Sally and her elevator mates truly do become permanent residents of the Twilight Zone, I’ll honour her, in colour and lightning-stricken black and white, on my nails, where I paint all the little things I love.  I particularly like how I split her face into colour and black and white, appropriate both for the 1930s, Old Hollywood setting of the ride, and the fate of Miss Shine herself, off somewhere in (*do do do dooooo*)…the Twilight Zone.

Sally Shine Thumb

10 thoughts on “Disney Girl Challenge: Sally Shine

  1. Awww, love this so much! You are so talented! I do not believe the rumor about Tower of Terror! Disney has said nothing about it, and plus Tower of Terror is such a popular attraction(one of the most popular).

    • Thank you very much for saying that – you’re super sweet. And also VERY SMART for not believing the Tower of Terror nonsense – I like the way you think. I know there’s huge changes coming to Hollywood Studios in particular (oops, I so wanted to call it MGM) but I hope they find a way to incorporate the Tower. Better yet, just leave it exactly as-is!

  2. Well that closeup of the face is HAUNTING. I think the eyes follow me… *walks back and forth staring at the pic*…..well it might also follow me since my phone goes where I go…but still!! Haunting!!

    • Ha! Well, I’m sorry/not sorry, because I didn’t mean to freak you out, but also I kind of did, because that was totally the effect I was going for! Maybe I should try one of the ghost girls from the Ring or the Grudge for you next?

      • Ack no!!! *cries* They were so scary!!

        Btw: when I am a ghost, I hope I have sparkly holo glitter skin like she does here! Hopefully no sun needed, I don’t think ghosts are big on sunny days.

Leave a Reply

