Layer Cake: A Mini Lush Review

Layer Cake Collage

I suffered a nail break the other day that has cancelled any plans I had for nail art (actually, a nail slice; I grossly underestimated the surgical precision with which my vegetable peeler could excise my nail from my finger) and so I thought I’d turn a beauty eye to the bath instead while my now-nubs regain a bit of their pre-surgery length.

This juicy-looking little chunk of soap is another Lush creation, this time Layer Cake soap, a somewhat recent addition to their multitude of brightly coloured, sweetly scented bath time goodies.  Nomenclature notwithstanding, Layer Cake smells not one bit like bakery. Its ingredient list instead boasts a mouthwatering blend of grape, orange, pineapple, blueberry and raspberry juices, and indeed, its scent is pure juice – not juicy or juice-oid or even sweetened juice cocktail, but freshly-squeezed sunshine, straight from the fruit.  It’s a beautiful, intoxicating scent.

Bar 2

Lush and I have a bit of a love-hate relationship in that I love the descriptions of their products, particularly the scent profiles, but hate that they so rarely match up to the actual item.  Layer Cake is that rare product that matches its description – a lush glycerin soap overflowing with tart fruit juices, straight up.  Very nice.

Poured in five horizontal, multi-coloured layers befitting its name and fruity ingredients, Layer Cake is somewhat oddly also cut on a horizontal, which means each little chunk only encompasses two, maybe three, of the soap’s gorgeous, glassy colours (red, purple, yellow, orange and blue.)  This doesn’t affect the scent at all, as the juices run throughout the bar as one tart, fruity blend, but if you’re dead set on receiving, say, a red and purple chunk like mine or even all five colours, you may be disappointed when you receive a green and yellow chunk.

Bar 1

Layer Cake soap has actually been on offer for some months now in North America, after making the rounds overseas last year.  I purchased my bar from Lush.ca, and so can you!

7 thoughts on “Layer Cake: A Mini Lush Review

    • Yes, the nails have hopefully gone to a better place – and I know it’s only been a couple of days, but they’re taking their sweet time growing back! This soap is great, smells awesome and looks adorable – I hope Australia Lush starts stocking it soon for you!

  1. Pingback: Plum Rain: A Mini Lush Review | Finger Candy

Leave a Reply

