Fall Fun Series: Hand and Nail Care

fall-nail-care

I’ve mentioned on previous occasions that, quite oddly for a nail blogger or just, you know, a human, I’m not much for beauty stuff on my hands.  Lotions?  Hardly use ’em.  Masks and treatments?  Only every now and then.  Hand creams?  Whazzat?  So when the most recent prompt in the Fall Fun Series called for the participants to highlight a favourite body care item, I was flummoxed – my hands-off approach to nail, skin and body care effectively means I have none!

Then I remembered that I still have a number of seasonally-scented items from a themed box I purchased from Sunny’s Body Products two years ago, and best of all, they’re all in perfect condition – the fragrance oils haven’t gone skunky, the creams bear no discolouration and a patch test raised no red, bumpy alarms.  I’d say these oldies, but goodies, are all cleared for takeoff, to slightly muddle my metaphors.

Fall Box

If you’d like to see what I had to say about the Fall box in its original form, you can find that post here.  Of the remaining items – intensive cuticle oil in Caramel Apple, sugar scrub in Autumn Mums and cuticle balm in Pumpkin Crunch Cake – I’m most excited to press the cuticle balm into action as a super emollient foot cream. And the scent?  Divine. It actually reminds me very much of this white cake my grandmother used to make with hard boiled caramel icing – buttery, pudding-y vanilla.  Oh, yum.  And while I can’t say I loveity love love the scent of the Autumn Mums sugar scrub, it’s pleasant enough and quite tolerable.  And the dabber-topped cuticle oil in Caramel Apple?  A wonderfully-scented version of the only nail product I use with any regularity. A definite keeper.

New-ish this year is a KB Shimmer mani shot in Pumpkin Spice.  Tiny, fizzy bath bombs for your hands, feet and nails, mani shots were a blink-and-you’ll-miss-it fad.  I received this little guy as a gift with purchase, which seems about right – I’m not sure I’d lay out money specifically for a mani shot, cute though they may be. But in years past, this is right about the time my hands and nails begin to suffer for my lack of a decent skincare regimen, so I’m willing to give this mani shot a shot, and indeed all of these “lost” Fall items, now on their second lives. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Fall Fun Series: Hand and Nail Care

  1. I always wondered about the mani shots. Do you plop them in a hot bowl of water and dip your fingers in? You nails look incredible for having a minimal regime My look like a gremlin nibbles them in the night. But I used to be that gremlin and I think I did too much damage. My cuticles are a hot ragged mess even with moisturizing and TLC. The other goodies look fun though.

    • You can put them in a big bowl of water for your hands (or I guess the sink if you don’t mind standing there for a few minutes) or into a foot bath for your feet, but yeah, that’s pretty much it – dissolve and soak. Which, if you use bath bombs or any kind of decent hand soap or cream, you’re already covered.

      Cuticle-eating gremlins? Sounds like you’ve got the makings of a REALLY screwed up horror movie there! But I think a large part of the reason my hands and nails look okay is because of that minimal routine – start messing around too much and you overdo it. Just keep your paws off your, uh, paws.

Leave a Reply

