What a Wonder: A Mini Lush Review

golden-wonder-collage

Okay, so I never particularly care for the scent of, well, any of these, and I always have a bit of a hard time watching $7.00 to $11.00 literally dissolve into glittery nothingness in my bathtub in less than a minute, but ding dang, Lush’s bath bombs – fizzy little orbs of multi-coloured sodium bicarbonate tenuously held together with good-for-your-skin essential oils – are just plain fun.  Far preferable to regular old water (although much like dosing your drinking water with flavoured extracts, you really ought to give plain eau de tap a go every now and then; the pigmentation in these things cannot be good for your delicate bits if you’re using them every day.)

But pretty!  And glittery, and colourful, and…okay, so I won’t comment on the smell.  They all smell like powdered (insert approximation of whatever the heck Lush thinks X smells like.)  Weirdly, though, I really like the smell of this pretty little bath bomb, Lush’s Golden Wonder.  Lush’s website tells me its scent notes and active ingredients include lime oil and bourbon extract, which…maybe?  Smells like citrus to me, which I quite enjoy.

Actually, I really enjoyed everything about this bath bomb, from its buttery yellow hue, to its dusting of gold mica, to its secret green and purple core.  I even loved the weird little ghost creature that popped up right toward the end of the bomb’s life cycle, eking out one final, bubbly gasp before dissolving into the glittery gloom.  Really, look at this odd little guy!  I think he looks like one of those swooping ghost baddies from the Super Mario games.  Or Mr. Boo Berry without his hat.  He don’t look like nothin’ now, though, because I sat on his face (in a completely non-sexual way, of course.) 😉

ghost-bubbles

The one thing I didn’t love about this bath bomb was that it, like so many Lush bath bombs I’ve purchased recently, dissolved totally in about 30 seconds flat.  And while I recognize that there’s more to bath bombs than the wow factor (this one was super moisturizing and turned my bathwater the coolest shade of glittery moss green) their main job is to put on a big show.  And when you’ve barely had time to whip out your camera, not drop it in the tub and fire off just a smattering of photos before everything’s said and done, well, that’s not very good value for your money (in this case $6.95 Canadian.)  All the same, the Golden Wonder bath bomb is one I would definitely buy again, should Lush bring it back next holiday season, with or without the little interloping ghost man!

golden-wonder-in-bath-collage

5 thoughts on “What a Wonder: A Mini Lush Review

  1. Sometimes, I do believe you’re bonkers. With this post, I’ve learned my delicate lady bits are safe for the time being because I don’t use bath bombs. I literally cannot watch $ go down the drain. As always, a gaming references is appreciated and makes perfect sense☺

  2. I just can’t do baths, period. And the glitter in these things makes me wonder… glitter + girly bits. 😳
    Ghost man is saying, “How much did you spend on this single use item?!” In fact, I believe ghost man is my SO.

    • Ghost man speaks the truth. But based on my usage last year, it all averaged out to one a month. Not the most sensible use of money, I’ll absolutely give you that, but it provided a bit of fun and some cool blogging fodder, so it’s cool in my books.

      Seriously, though, the people that use these things every day (one person I saw on Instagram had a bath every day with at least two) HAVE to be living in Yeast Infection City. Pardon my crass.

Leave a Reply

