Ballistics and Sparkling Red Slippers: A Mini Lush Review

framed-ballistics-and-red-shoes-collage

Combating a dreary start to the week with a couple of cheer-inducing bathtime goodies from Lush, Sparkling Red Slippers bubble bar and a Never Mind the Ballistics bath bomb. Released as part of Lush’s 2016 holiday collection, I think both were brand new creations this season, at least for North American consumers.

For this super sunny bath, I crumbled up half of a Sparkling Red Slipper, a mica-dusted bubble bar the exact same shape and colour as one of Dorothy’s iconic ruby pumps, and ran it under the tap until I had a fluffy mound of bubbles.  If you like to spice up your bath with coloured bubbles and water, but you’re looking for something a little softer than Lush’s usual high intensity palette of neon pinks and blues, I’d suggest a Sparkling Red Slipper bubble bar – my bathwater was a beautiful, plush rose red, and scented like a bouquet of slightly peppery carnations.  Very nice!

Then, being quite careful not to drop my phone into the carnation-scented water, I lowered a Never Mind the Ballistics bath bomb into the cloud of bubbles and watched as it erupted into a delightful mess of banana split-hued bends and twirls.  And then I took pictures of it!

framed-ballistics-and-red-shoes-bubbles-collage

I quite helpfully took no note whatsoever of Never Mind the Ballistics’ scent, but I do remember giving the simple yellow orb (partially dipped in a hot pink, bath melt-type shell) a curious sniff and thinking that it wasn’t unpleasant, and vaguely reminiscent of tart, powdery candies.

Aw, dude, I *heart* you, too!  So nice when your bath products show you a little love in return. 😉

i-heart-baths

15 thoughts on “Ballistics and Sparkling Red Slippers: A Mini Lush Review

  1. Reminds me of your beautiful but exasperating water marble manicures. Love those bright sunny colors. You have inspired me to use a bath bomb tonight. I think I will try out that Autumn Leaf one I have one hand.

    • That’s totally what it’s like. Actually, exact same technique – float colours on the surface of water, fiddle around until you find a design you like. Although thankfully you don’t have to get these bubbles to adhere to your nails! But seriously, give that Leaf a twirl and then drag the rings from the outside in (or vice versa) with your finger – it creates some pretty cool effects!

  2. Pingback: Queen of Hearts | Finger Candy

Leave a Reply

