June Band of Bloggers

bandofbloggers_header

Toes in the water, sunshine on the skin, evenings spent watching blinking fireflies or brilliant fireworks, all the little indulgences that only summer can bring.  As it’s arriving soon (in the northern hemisphere), for June we want to know the special ways you indulge during the summer months.  Any activities you look forward to?  For some, it involves dodging bugs, to searching for respite from soaring temps.  But for everyone, it means longer daylight hours.  What is your summer indulgence?

I’m not sure how much of an indulgence something can be if it cost 75 cents at the secondhand bookstore, but one of my favourite things to do in the summer is bury myself in a stack of Christopher Pike young adult thrillers and pretend I’m 12 years old again.  I was just discussing this with a friend the other day, but those beloved books (all published in the late ’80s and ’90s, for those not familiar with Pike’s work) really hold up quite well.  You know, provided you’re into Egyptology, time travel, teen cannibalism, lizard people from Mars, mild drug use, vampires, devastating childhood trauma and a hell of a lot of female characters named Ann.  Last summer, whilst in the midst of a major Pike-a-thon, I created this manicure.  I may have also rhapsodized a fair bit about my deep, abiding love for the 1980s YA teen thriller; you can find that post here.

Christopher Pike Collage

Continuing with gratification, what’s the most indulgent fragrance purchase you have ever made or been gifted?  A special bottle of perfume, exclusive wax opening, or pricey, fancy pants candle?

Every Christmas my parents gift me with a two-wick Voluspa candle in one of my favourite fragrances, French Bourbon Vanille.  This candle is a real luxury item – silky smooth, clean-burning coconut wax, a lush, gourmand fragrance, that beautiful mercury glass container – and it’s got the price tag to go along with it – $38 Canadian.

That my parents willingly – I’d say even gleefully – purchase this for me every year is nothing short of amazing, as they are not the type to splash out on something as banal as a candle.  My parents have always been exceedingly financially responsible.  It’s what has allowed them to enjoy a comfortable life, all while continuing to be quite generous with their only daughter (come on, you knew I was an only child!)

Having said that, my parents are still a long way off from Dickensian tightwads.  They spend their money on the things that matter to them; luxury candles simply aren’t one of those things.  Dollar Store firestarters will do just fine, thanks!  But my, do they love purchasing this candle every year.  I think it gives them a weirdly illicit little jolt – “Wayne!  We’re buying a $40 candle for our kid.  Is she bonkers or are we?”

Voluspa In the Dark

Lastly, how would you indulge if $ was no object?  It could be a luxe fragrance you desire, a pampering spa package, a legendary retired scent, etc.  What is your dream way to treat yo’self?

If finances and environmental impact were of no concern, I’d enjoy freshly laundered linens every day, and fresh cut flowers thrice weekly.  Thrice!  I love bedding down in clean sheets (bolted downstairs at 9:30 pm on New Years Eve, actually, to throw a load in the machine so I could begin 2017 unencumbered by 2016’s scuzzy sheets) and fresh flowers are simple sunshine in a vase.  Love the little luxuries associated with both.

Luxurious Photo

Please feel free to answer these questions for yourself in the comment section below.

And we hope you’ll visit these Band of Blogger blogs and help support the blogger community!

Amanda at Thrifty Polished

Deb at It’s Always Something

Jaybird at The Candle Enthusiast

Jessica at The Meltdown Blog

Julie at The Redolent Mermaid

Lauren at LoloLovesScents

Liz at Furianne

Sandra – me! – at Finger Candy

If you are a blogger and would like to join the Band of Bloggers for our monthly posts, please contact us.

8 thoughts on “June Band of Bloggers

  1. Christopher Pike. I swear I must have read some of his stuff. I am going to see if I can scout some of his stuff out this summer and take a dive… see if it brings up any memories.

    How sweet that your folks get you this candle every year and thank you for sharing the scent with me. I am going to be buying a larger one during their winter semi-annual sale hopefully next time. I just missed this last sale they had a few days ago. I love more than anything that it is a tradition for you guys. ❤

    Mmmm… nothing like freshly laundered sheets is there?? And fresh cut flowers. Both are very nice luxuries, indeed. Adam bought me some for Mother's Day so I recently had my flower love bucket filled. They lasted a good long while too! Love your photos and set up! Looks comfy cozy and sweet.

    • You should really see if you can get your hands on some (EBay is actually where we got our bounty) because they’re fun, easy, breezy summer reads, and the nostalgia factor is a hoot. Then we’ll have much (more) to discuss!

  2. You are the C.P. queen! I see a ton of material come through the library and don’t think his stuff is circulating at all, but it must be out there somewhere, I’m gonna search it out. You mentioned Monster last time we discussed him; what a freak show that was! I think it may have been the last one I read, simultaneously disturbed and fascinated by it.
    Ah, I love the direction you went with the $ is no object question. Freshly laundered bedding is one of life’s splendid little luxuries, but I don’t know if it would feel that way if I had it every day. I would enjoy a daily bouquet however, great photo and answers😊

    • EBay. My husband literally bid on, like, nine lots. The highest bid was something like $5 for anywhere from 10 to 20 books. He won one, and then promptly forgot about the other eight, which he also won. I wish I had known that someday people would want my overabundance of Christopher Pike books, because at one point I had about 150.

      I loved (love) Monster soooo much. It’s such a mess – Pike’s world felt like it really grew up a lot with that one. It was really quite trashy!

      Fresh sheets every day would actually sort of be a bummer – you need a few days at least to build up a bit of scuz, so you appreciate the lovely fresh cleanliness that comes next! So maybe twice a week?

Leave a Reply

