March Band of Bloggers

bandofbloggers_header

Welcome to the March edition of Band of Bloggers!  Hopefully this month begins to bring more temperate weather and the first signs of spring!  In my neck of the woods, conditions have been alternating between crazy heavy rain/high winds and beautiful sunshine and blooming flowers.  I hope the weather will stabilize a bit this month.  Since the month of March usually holds the first signs of spring, that begs the question:

What scents are your favourite scents to melt and wear for spring?

Are you a fan of traditional spring scents such as florals, fresh/clean, earthy, herbal, etc.?

Do you consider yourself a seasonal melter (melting scents traditionally associated with a particular season)?

I wouldn’t consider myself a seasonal melter, if only because every time I try to really immerse myself in the hallmark scents of a season (pumpkin and apple in the fall, mint and trees in the winter) I go into complete olfactory overload and swear that if I ever smell another (apple, it’s usually apple) scent, I’m hurling all my warmers off the balcony.  Bit dramatic, that, but I think we’ve all been there.

 So no, not a seasonal melter, but as we move into the warmer spring months (how funny that we’re now talking about the spring – after two weeks of way-above-normal winter temperatures, the mercury plummeted overnight to -20) I do tend to gravitate towards some of the lighter, fresher and cleaner scents in my wax collection (said collection still being 99 percent fruity-bakery, so take that with a large grain of, um, sugar.)

Here I pulled two favourite new fragrances from my recent Sniff My Tarts order, a large frosted sugar cookie in Lavender Marshmallow Cake and Lemon Cake Pops, and a bag of no-fuss chunks (adorable little petit four-shaped confections) in Mango, Blackberry and Twinkies.  Customs both, they’re fruity, fresh and beautifully layered – perfect AND perfectly unassuming background scents, the kind of fragrances that make you think, “I don’t know what that is, but it smells flippin’ GREAT in here.”  Definitely my kind of spring scents. 🙂

bob-spring-pic

We hope you’ll join the fun and leave your own answer in the comments below!  And we hope you’ll visit these Band of Blogger blogs and help support the blogger community!

Amanda at Thrifty Polished

Jaybird at The Candle Enthusiast

Julie at The Redolent Mermaid

Lauren at LoloLovesScents

Liz at Furianne

Sandra – me! – at Finger Candy

If you are a blogger and would like to join us for our monthly posts, please don’t hesitate to contact any one of us.

7 thoughts on “March Band of Bloggers

  1. Hurl my warmers off my balcony.😂 Sometimes I overdo it on scents too; happens to the best of us. Apple’s a tricky one.
    I love lavender & marshmallow and lemon blends also; right up my alley! Gorgeous photo!

  2. I think I may have talked about this with you last month, but I can’t do any of those Hey/Hello/Hola Lover lemon scents, which I think is supposed to be lemon sugar and shortbread? Which sounds amazing, because I too love lemon, but holy cats, they give me the most brutal (and immediate) headaches ever. It’s uncannily horrible. Otherwise, Team Lemon! The lemon in this cookie is so nice, too.

  3. Love your photo and SMT feature ❤ I love their lavender blends. I have definitely overdosed on certain scents before but thankfully none of my seasonal ones. I think maybe our extremely short fall and winter seasons keep me from getting tired of them. Or maybe because I love spice so much I don't think I could ever get tired of it.

  4. That’s a pretty picture and quite springy. Hmm, mango blkberry twinkies…I wouldn’t eat, but I’d probably melt.
    Reading this made me realize I rarely even melt the same scent notes within a month, so I don’t get much chance to grow tired of anything. I have a lot of variety, which helps. 2 scents I can’t imagine getting burned out on right now are, marshmallow and shaving cream. Wonder if I should blend them?

    • Thank you! It turns out I have a LOT of silk flowers around here – time to put them to something other than decorative use. 🙂

      Weirdly, I think mango blackberry Twinkies would be kind of great to eat (fruit and cream cake? That ain’t wrong.) But I don’t believe I care for the Twinkies note in general – it’s weirdly powdery. But it works really well in this blend with the mango and blackberry (less so in another blend I did with mango and strawberry.)

      And in regards to blending experiments with shaving cream and marshmallow, well, you just don’t know until you try, right? 😉 Let me know how it works out!

Leave a comment