Summer Popsicles

Popsicle Time Collage

Well, we’re right in the mix of this summer business now, aren’t we?  It was a muggy one today, with more of the same supposedly on tap for tomorrow, and just in time for Canada Day.  Ah, but it wouldn’t be any sort of decent Canada Day if you weren’t sweating your bollocks off at either a cottage or on Parliament Hill with about 300,000 of your dearest and drunkest friends.  I will be eschewing all of the above because I am a Canada Day buzzkill – years of just not good times, starting all the way back in high school, have led to me kind of going into hiding on July 1st.  I’m happiest at home, listening to Sloan, watching the Trailer Park Boys, working on my Tim Hortons’ nails.

Speaking of, here’s some nails!  Regrettably not of Timbits (crack-laced donut holes; kidding about the crack part, although Timmy’s fans are kind of rabid about their double-doubles and cherry chips) or anything at all having to do with Canada Day, but I got the summer part in, using Candy Lacquer’s Melting Popsicles glitter topper over a pale blue creme for a pretty, warm weather look that’s at least thematically appropriate for the sweltering summer temperatures.  Might even work for Canada Day itself, were it not for the fact that I’m duty bound by our Constitution to paint red maple leafs on my nails come July 1st.  See you with those tomorrow!

012

 

4 thoughts on “Summer Popsicles

  1. This is so damn festive! I thought the base was purple but if I stare at it for a moment I can “make” myself see blue. So weird.

    • You’re not totally wrong – it’s blue, but it has a lot of purple in it, as does the glitter in the glitter polish…it actually looks almost identical to the last manicure I did with it, which was actually over a pale lilac polish.

Leave a comment